Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Poll Question : What RC experiencedo you have?
Choice Votes Statistics
A) I'm a pro. Got my next race soon. 0 0 %
B) Been RC fan for a while, got a few vehicles 5 41 %
C) Got one Nitro RC car 1 8 %
D) Electric RC all the way, got my car charging 0 0 %
E) Have had an RC toy before. Toy being the key. 0 0 %
F) Nothing, this Redbull is my baptism of RC Fire! 6 50 %

Nitro RC is not for sissies! Options
sparrowtwin
#1 Posted : 21 July 2014 22:15:36

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Okay, this Redbull RB7 build has got me so excited for RC and modeling that I've
Made a room in my garage just for this new hobby of mine.
Then looking and reading about RC I realized I know nothing about
RC never mind NITRO RC...Confused
So I went to my local hobby shop and by chance they had a used RC Nitro
Tamiya TNX 1/8 "buggy". Had been fixed and never collected for six months. Guy didnt
Pay for repairs (a new pull-start nitro engine was installed). So a got it complete.
Perfect condition.
Now the learning begins. For all of us on the build, if you don't know anything
About Nitro RC cars like I did, please do yourself a favor and by a used one to practice
on. The last thing you want to do is crash your new RB7 R14 000 car on your first go.
Aftermarket parts will be difficult to get.
I've made some big mistakes. (like burning out my clutch) Angry and flooding my engine.
I've been back to the hobby store 4 times already for help.
The owner, Tony, has been so friendly and helpful. Kept me going.

Here's what I've learnt in one month of having it...
What is a glow plug, what is a glow plug starter, what is a pull start motor, how
to flood an engine, how to unflood an engine,how to prime an engine,
how to replace the clutch, clean the clutch, how to get the transmission cog working,
how to set the shocks, how to tune and engine (still struggle with this, rich or lean),