Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Having trouble with tiny screws Options
rpmracing18
#1 Posted : 19 November 2016 22:33:40

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Hello, I am new and this is my first post. Although, I am not new to building models, I am new to putting metal models together as the DeAgostini Shelby. I love this model from the first time I seen someone post it on the SAAAC forum.

I received my first 4 kits and assembly instructions and I seem to be having trouble with the tiny screws threading all the way in the holes. I found out pretty fast that there isn't any threads for the screws and I'm having a hard time getting the screws to bottom out without stripping the phillips head first. I attached a 1/4" socket and ratchet to the small phillips screw driver that came with the kit. But, to no evail, the threads are still stripping.

Can anyone elaborate on what they have done outside of tapping each hole!!!

Any help appreciated,
Rich

BTW, I just got started and my headlight lens already popped outAngry
I hope that I don't spend a fortune on this model to be like this for the whole assembly!!
arpurchase
#2 Posted : 19 November 2016 23:14:08

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding buildBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal

BigGrin Hi Rich

First off welcome to the forum and your building a great car.

There are a couple of ways to get round the thread tapping you can use the spare screw to tap the holes doing this by quarter turns to tap then back a quarter and so forth until you get the right depth.