Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Stephen's Millenium Falcon build diary Options
Stephen108uk
#1 Posted : 03 March 2017 20:11:03

Groups: Registered

Hi - it's been many years since I ever made a model - about 30! and then it was just a young lad's poor attempts!

So...I've collected all the parts, now stored in many boxes, read up a lot, seen others build photos, watched many model makers videos on Youtube etc, bought my own, (first!) air brush, the paints, brushes etc etc - basically starting from scratch!

And now I've started, after a few false starts - and inspired by what I've seen others do - I'm trying to follow in their footsteps - trying to pick my way though all the different methods and choosing what I think works best for what I'm trying/able to achieve.

Like I've said, I'm no expert - and looking at all the Ref photos, the 5ft foot model, and the 32 inch one, I've decided to combine the best of what I've seen (detail wise) and add what details I feel I achieve.

What I'm also trying to do (my personal choice) is try to create my own reality on the model - where paint details look like they were quickly airbrushed for film modelling, I'm taking the extra time I have to create my own logic of how panels might in a 'real' world have been painted etc - if any of this makes sense!!!

I will try to post pics as I go, I'm also buying 3rd part additions and i hope some ideas my either inspire or give other something to avoid!!! BigGrin

It's also taken me a bit of courage to start posting this - so will start with a few examples of what I've been up to for the last month....and will try to keep this updated as I carry on...any comments and/or suggestions very very welcome!!!

thank you

Below are my first attempt at repainting the hull, I'd already managed to turn the 'window' to the correct angle, filled the existing 'holes' and painted the base coat of 'insignia white'....and now all masked off ready for spraying..