Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Classic races - Monaco 1965 Options
Zeptrader
#1 Posted : 12 March 2011 17:20:55

Groups: New Members, Unapproved

I suppose I’d better start by explaining the footage, I’ve been collecting now for near on 10 years, but its only been on DVD format for the last 5 years. I received some years back a DVD recorder so transferring the old vhs tapes was quite easy. Looking at the end result is ok but I knew it could get better.
I found a guy that sells these classic races on DVD and decided to build the collection again, starting with the races I’ve heard about (Classic GP), then fill in the gaps, believe me he has loads.
I got some 9 DVD’s in the post the other day and started with the race I’ll review here.

Monaco May 30th 1965 (round 2)
This footage is a recent find (last year) up till then its been a programme called ‘Wheelbase’ consisting only Thursday practice footage with interviews, bit like Top Gear of its day, some great interviews with Graham Hill and Jackie Stewart (in his first full season). Wheelbase runs only for 25 mins and shows the track and a rainy session. Again this can be found on the net via youtube or the like’s. (TYPE: Wheelbase – 1965 Monaco GP) and look for the videos.

The new dvd has a running time of 1hr 36mins and is of course black & white with natural sound, only the engine sounds and occasional interview.

It starts with an introduction with Phil Hill, then moves onto the cars being pushed to the grid slots, some familiar faces present, the cleark of the course calls his famous open air meeting with the drivers (talking in French) Lorenezo Bandini, Jo Siffert, Jo Bonnier, Richard Attwood are amongst the drivers huddled in a circle to listen to the rules of the start. “Only”, he says “and only after I count 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 and drop the flag will you go, be careful”