Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Curly'Build Update Options
CKale
#1 Posted : 06 October 2017 17:02:30

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Here's my engine. I've painted it using the guidelines from the magazines. I'm by no means an expert at painting. I masked off various parts and did the best I could.

The trickiest part by far was trying to make the gold and black lines meet evenly in the last picture. I tried to match the join lines from the sides but it's really difficult to mask off this very narrow area. It's not as bad as the pictures make it look.

The other problem was painting the thin black lines on the filter head and hose (resting against the towel in picture 3) .These are recessed and incredibly narrow. It really needs the end of a cocktail stick and a steady hand.

The gold paint is a great match for cylinder head but goes on really thin so needs quite a few coats.

I'm glad I did it though. There are more painting tips for other parts in later issues.
CKale attached the following image(s):
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
Metal Mech
#2 Posted : 06 October 2017 17:22:59

Active Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal

Looks really good. I have found that even just painting a part or two makes a world of difference in the look of a kit.

I think yours turned out pretty good. Looking forward to seeing more.

DeAgostini kit builds:

Millennium Falcon: 18% Complete
Shelby GT-500: 28% Complete
Thunderbird 2: 13.75% Complete
delboy271155
#3 Posted : 06 October 2017 17:27:48

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal