Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Obsi's Build Options
Lord-Obsidian
#1 Posted : 05 August 2018 18:33:40

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Hello everyone,

my name is Daniel from Germany and I am new to modelling and wanted to start with the victory as there is supposed to be a very good manual to what you have to do and (as I already found out) a nice community willing to help and interested in what one is doing.

I decided to start a diary on this one, because some of you asked for one and gave the hint it might be a good idea for a beginner to have some professionals keep track on what one is doing. I have read a lot of scary posts where little mistakes lead to big problems. I hope to avoid that.

I immagined the cross-section was easier I started with that one (see diary in that forum) and wanted to finish it first, but due to long waiting time while planking I started the full ship as well :o)

I do have the magazines which I will use as primary source of manual but also have a look at official diary, the YouTube channel as well as diarys from fellow builders. At this point I would like (again) to point out, that the magazines are well written and an enrichment for the building process (real good work by DeAgostini!).

So for now I started with stages 1-20 and differed just a little bid from the manual. Since I had all packages at hand I completet the keel elements first (it thought it would be easier to get it straight that way compared to add the last parts when frame no. 12 - the first one - is glued to it).

At this point I had to start differnt tasks because a lot of frames were totally bend, I had to contact CS twice to send me new ones, 7 years in storage has left it's trace.