Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

New to Model-Space in Southern California Options
jgerl186
#1 Posted : 26 February 2019 17:57:11

Groups: Registered

Greetings all! I'm new to Model-Space and just ordered my first kit for the 14-month HMS Surprise. I live in Southern California and even took a trip down to San Diego to see the ship that was used in the movie Master & Commander for inspiration. I am not new to modeling at all, but this will be my first wood ship build. I'm happy to see there is an active community here for support and that makes me happy with my decision to start this build.

I'm curious if anyone has any suggestions on a all-in-one starting tool kit specifically for ship modelling? I have generic tools for modeling, but looking for things more specific to ship modeling (precision saw, files, sanding block, etc). I found this one on Amazon which seems okay to start, and then a more expensive one here from Garrett Wade. Does anyone have any experience with either of these or have a better suggestion? Just looking for basic stuff to get me started, but won't break or wear out two months in.

Thanks for your help, and I'm excited to join your community!

Jacob
Markwarren
#2 Posted : 26 February 2019 21:14:42

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding buildBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Registered, Administrators, Global Forum Support, Moderator, Forum Support Team, Official Builds