Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

A better way to do copper tiling Options
darylmros
#1 Posted : 30 November 2020 05:18:54

Groups: Registered

This isn't the first time I've used copper on a ship model. My first was the Corel Cutty Sark, so I've gotten some good (and bad) experience I would like to share. I see I'm ranked as a "newbie," which isn't accurate, I've been building models for almost 50 years, and model ships for almost 30.

1. Don't use CA glue. Between that and the accelerator, you will feel miserable unless you can work outside or with. respirator the entire time.

2. Use Titebond II, which is available almost anywhere. It's formulated to bond wood with metal, and works very well with the Model Space copper tiles. I put a glob on cardboard, then spread it with a small plastic spatula. Microbrushes are good for small areas as well. It has a fairly fast tack, so "make haste slowly,"

3. To apply the tiles, I find a simple X-Acto knife with no. 11 blade works perfectly. Sometimes a small pair of tweezers helps with small shaped parts of tile.

4. When you need to cut the tiles, don't bother using the method Model Space recommends: Curved blade on a ceramic tile. Simply mark with pencil where you want to cut (it might rub off from hand oils, no worries), and then simply cut with scissors. Small surgical scissors will bo the job perfectly.

5. When you cut with scissors, you might curl the tile. Simply place it on the ceramic tile you don't need to cut on (but you need a flat hard surface) and press the tile with the face of a small metal ruler.

6. If Titebond squeezes out, don't wipe it off, let it set into a gel (this only takes a few minutes) and then use your knife to gently scrape the glue off.
z8000783
#2 Posted : 30 November 2020 07:04:09

Active Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Unapproved