Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

3 Pages 123>
1:200 Bismarck - Going the weathered route... Options
S4Simon
#1 Posted : 11 March 2021 12:28:52

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Registered

I couldn't bring myself to building a clean (straight out of the shipyard) Bismarck battleship. So have decided to try and indulge in a slightly weathered option.

Not an easy thing to do as I haven't seen anyone else who has chosen to follow the dark side. Anyway I'm having a lot of fun learning, as it's my first time weathering a battleship.

First pass last weekend working on the hull - mainly oil paints, and working the superstructure and deck with a light black wash.

What I have found is that the light black wash really brings out the rivet detail on the guns.

BUILDING: Taking a break / Waiting for the next epic build to be released

COMPLETED: Hachette Spitfire, Hachette Bismarck, Deagostini Millennium Falcon, Deagostini R2-D2
CaptnBirdseye
#2 Posted : 11 March 2021 14:48:47

Active Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal

BigGrin what a cracking job you’ve made of here too! I particularly like the black and white shot. Sort of gives a feeling of the era ThumpUp You’ve certainly chosen a big enough scale to practice on, but well done.

Regards Gray
Silent_Running
#3 Posted : 11 March 2021 15:03:41

Active Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Registered, Moderator, Forum Support Team

What a cracker that bissy is, l second the black and white photo, could we have some more pics in b&w please? Also what’s that other big beast behind it Cool
Gandale
#4 Posted : 11 March 2021 16:22:07