Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

cce427 Options
cce427
#1 Posted : 16 November 2021 17:39:34

Groups: Registered

I am not going to moan anymore about this kit, as an engineer I have never had to do so much fettling to make things fit on a kit of the vast cost.

Just curious, the undercarriage is heavy and will be fixed retracted so not really a problem but can anyone tell me how they fixed a heavy piece of metal with a 3 sided large hole in the end to a small stub ? ok I have the epoxi out as you can see after 4 diferent sets of covers I had the glue the best ones on as the screw holes were nowhere near lineup. also no mention of how to link without a servo.
cce427 attached the following image(s):
IMG_0553.JPG
IMG_0554.JPG
delboy271155
#2 Posted : 16 November 2021 20:19:19

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Registered, Forum Support Team, Administrators, Global Forum Support Team, Moderator, Official Builds

Hi cce427, BigGrin (Sorry don`t know you`re name)

I`m an old duffer retired engineer and not as far through the Spitfire as yourself, but have some observations.

Referring to the official build https://forum.model-spac...aspx?g=topics&f=139 I`ve noticed that there are some glaring differences between the mounting points of the struts to covers from Left to Right. Could this be part of your issues?

As for the "built without a servo" I`m seeing that it can only be built with the U/C up or down, in which case the U/C can be fixed permanently in either position with adhesive.

Regards
delboy271155
(Derek)
COME BACK GUY FAWKES "YOUR COUNTRY NEEDS YOU"

cce427
#3 Posted : 18 November 2021 17:28:16

Groups: Registered