Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

3 Pages <123
What modelling goodies has your postman delivered recently? Options
Kev the Modeller
#41 Posted : 31 August 2021 14:30:13

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Tamiya 1:12 1975 Martini Brabham BT44B

Ordered this last week and just arrived this morning!

Back in the '70s, Tamiya produced a number of kits in regular succession in their 1:12 'Big Scale' Formula 1 range. I was a young apprentice at the time and mad keen on F1, as I still am, and I bought and built every single one in this series as they were released (they were a lot cheaper then, but it's all relative I suppose?!) and I wish I still had them! Anyway, I digress. Having built all of them previously, the one that I've always wanted to build again since my originals gradually disappeared from my life over the years, has been the 'Martini' sponsored Brabham BT44B. To my eye, it's one of the best looking F1 cars ever created, along with the 1967 Eagle Gurney-Weslake that I'm currently building, with it's beautiful wedge shaped chassis around the cockpit and a perfectly shaped nose section and airbox. No flash colour schemes just white with the classic Martini blue and red banding and some elegant pin striping to accentuate the body shape. Add to that the unusual but very lovely black windscreen and it all just looks gorgeous!!