Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

OK - Let`s talk "CHROME" Options
delboy271155
#1 Posted : 18 June 2024 20:16:35

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Registered, Forum Support Team, Administrators, Global Forum Support Team, Moderator, Official Builds

Hi, BigGrin

Well, at fear of shooting myself in the foot, or making myself look a total Buffoon, I`m going to start a thread about painting "CHROME".

I recently received an AD for a modellers rattle can paint spray. Specifically a chrome spray. The Pics and Vid in the AD looked really good.

So, the basics:

ME: I declare that I am no artist. I`m OK with a brush, basic air brushing and rattle can priming/undercoating. I have never achieved a good chrome finish, even after following the instructions to the letter. Turns out a weird Aluminium type of finish.

The challenge: is to follow the instructions of this product to the letter and see if I can get something like a Chrome finish.

Should I fail to get the end result I`m looking for, there`s a fair bet its me and not the product. If it works, then its down to me.LOL Flapper LOL Ok a product that`s fool proof. Blink Blink

The product: Sold by Green Stuff World (GSW) Pic 1.

Lastly, the test: Found something that would look really cool in chrome, an exhaust pipe from an old car kit. Basic rub down from the old aluminium paint, Pic 2.

What`s next:

According to the instructions: Priming/Black gloss/Chrome plus all the prep bits in between.