Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Danny's McLaren Build! Options
Senna94
#1 Posted : 15 April 2011 22:22:14

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Hi all,
Thanks for viewing before I start!
Little bit about me before I dive in! Im Danny, 21 and from Leeds, West Yorkshire.
I work in IT, but my real love is motorsport. Doesn't matter what kind, from F1 to DTM, from V8 Supercars to WRC, I will attend and watch as much as possible!
F1 is my passion. McLaren being my team... Obviously!! BigGrin
I subscribed last year when DeAgo released the MP4-22 from Canada, Hamiltons first win, and was totally gutted when it got canned! Mad
I'm new to model building, apart from the odd airfix kit I got for Xmas (Which doesn't really count!) as a kid and built it with wallpaper paste and a garden trowel, or so it looks when I look at them now!
So this is a new venture for me.. I've always wanted to model build, but time and in some cases money, it never took off. And now, I'm hooked!

So to kick the build diary off, I researched as much as I could about tools, adhesives and equipment as much as possible because, lets face it, no one whats a pig's ear of a model, spesh this one!, when it's finished!
I went out and bought - Craft knife, some small sized paintbrushes, A3 cutting mat, flush side cutters, a better screwdriver, set of modeller tweezers, decal softener, both types of glue needed (albeit one turned out to be pants! Thanks SennaMentalMe! BigGrin)then some of the other not so expensive stuff, chop sticks which we've accumulated over the years, cocktail sticks and rubber bands.

So on I went with the build, Well I didnt find it a straight walk in the park I must say, but a bit of messing about I soon picked up the hang of it. I bought the first two issues from the Newsagents and got two from my subscription, So two wings later and heres my photo diary below -

]