Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

ROPES? Options
piot007
#1 Posted : 24 May 2010 10:51:01

Groups: Registered

Hi all. Can anyone tell me which size rope/cotton to use on the build. Im thinking 2.5mm and 0.5mm for the block and tackle on the carronade, from either cornwall models or ive also read somewhere that calderdraft models are very good.
The blocks looks a bit big as well. What sizes are other people buying as a replacement. Its my first build, but i would like more authenticity. I love a challenge. I struggle to find the info i need when i need it. Could the answer be put into the 'index of topics' section please, as thats where most people(newbies like me) will look first.
Thanks for all the great pics and advice. I depend on you all.
Piot
i dont know what weapons will be used in ww3 but ww4 will be sticks and stones.
Zeptrader
#2 Posted : 24 May 2010 19:14:54

Groups: New Members, Unapproved

I think we will have to wait some time for that, but any info that does come up I'll put in the index.
piot007
#3 Posted : 24 May 2010 20:37:38

Thankyou Zeptrader. Im sorry, but I didnt wait for advice and bought from Cornwall boats. Who have a very impressive stock line and keen prices.
I bought 100x 3mm natural doubled holed blocks (7p each) and rope/twine in the following sizes 0.1mm, 0.25mm, 0.5mm, 1.0mm, 2.5mm. Hope they are all the right sizes. At least ive got a good spread selection. Ive also bought sanding sealer. Paints and W+D paper and cutting mat also turned up today. just waiting for the W+N brushes. Then I can crack on with the build.
karl1113
#4 Posted : 24 May 2010 20:51:24

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal