Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

27 Pages 123>»
George1 Build Options
George1
#1 Posted : 16 March 2014 10:03:14

Active Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Hi other Aussies.
I'm building 'The Sovereign' and have finished issues one and two plus the two cannons. Have not yet added blocks but have added eye screws ready for them. Both cannons painted re bodywork red, wheels black, cannons dark bronze. Very tiny builds and fiddly, but had success and both look great.
I can see a number of tools will be required for the build and if anyone knows of modelling shop in Perth area where such tools available would be obliged. I do have a Dremel and kit so that's fine for any drilling or sanding. Will definitely need a one sided crimp-er re board/planks later re the bending required.
This is my first attempt at model ship building and so far found enjoyable.
I did make a motorized model car years ago but this is far more intriguing.

Regards to all

George1
Building HMS SOTS
Gandale
#2 Posted : 16 March 2014 10:17:48

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding buildBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Registered, Global Forum Support, Moderator, Official Builds, Administrators

George1 wrote:
Hi other Aussies.
I'm building 'The Sovereign' and have finished issues one and two plus the two cannons. Have not yet added blocks but have added eye screws ready for them. Both cannons painted re bodywork red, wheels black, cannons dark bronze. Very tiny builds and fiddly, but had success and both look great.