Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

14 Pages 123>»
Greyhawks Lunch Break D51 (DONE!!!!) Options
greyhawk
#1 Posted : 10 June 2015 13:43:46

Active Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Registered

EDIT: As the deadline has been extended, I'm entering this build diary into the Build of the Year 2015 contest. I'm offering free hugs for everyone that votes for me.

This will be a straight out of box bare metal build featuring only Roys decals and the display case as enhancements.

Why Underexperienced?

I have no experience with building metal models at all, apart from thoroughly screwing up some Metal Earth Star Wars models. Yup, those. The ones for kids. I've also (badly) built a few plastic model cars. I know nothing about CA glue, epoxy, files, screws or anything else we'll be encountering along this ride. So this will be a learning experience.

Everything is working out better than expected.

Why Lunch Break?

The D51 is intended to take its place on my rather large office window sill. Seeing as how my lunch break is way too long, I have decided to build the train in situ in 10 to 15 minute sessions during my lunch break, transporting tools as needed per building stage into and out of the office.

Why Slightly OCD?

The build report is intended to feature a running tally of parts & screws count and weight per building stage. Yeah.... we'll see how that goes.

Turns out it's hard to weigh things if your scale flakes out on you.
stevie_o
#2 Posted : 10 June 2015 13:50:50

Active Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding buildBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal