Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Ferg's Millenium Falcon Build Diary Options
Fergazoid
#1 Posted : 28 February 2016 07:43:47

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Hi all!
I have no experience in model kit building so I'm likely to have little to contribute in the realm of painting and construction techniques. I have been a maker of sorts for most of my life with some expertise in computers and electronics and creating BattleBots, etc. So hopefully I have enough passionate geekiness to make this work!

I'm only just beginning this project and have been learning quite a lot from the other builder's here, especially Colson. I'm navigating a path thru these splendid examples in a way that optimizes my skills and interests. I'll likely only post when I feel I have something of value to add to the existing knowledge base. So I'll start with a couple of ideas I've not seen here yet. But then I haven't looked at all the build diaries.

I may eventually wind up building a display case, but rather than running wires out of the model to switches I plan to build control electronics into the model with just a power plug required and controlled via WiFi to make it portable. (Heftable at least!) I've chosen the Particle Photon controller and have been testing my additional lighting elements with it as I go. The Photon is trivial to setup and use, though I'll likely do some more sophisticated programming along the way, like more complex lighting control, random flashing, etc. (Imagine sounds from the movies sync'd with effects on the Falcon!) The end result we be controllable from phone, tablet or computer.

I'm also using some surface mount (SMD) electronic components like LEDs and resistors for lighting because they are oh so tiny compared to the big old cylinder LEDs. Here's a photo of one I used for the cockpit front instrumental panel: