Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Super Glue on the Windshield Options
chipwool
#1 Posted : 25 May 2016 01:07:55

Groups: Registered

Good evening all.

I'm new to Model-Space and the forum. I just purchased the Toyota model and have suspended my life for a few days and have immersed myself in this build. I hate to begin with a problem, but I need some advice. I got impatient with the double sided tape and the rear view mirror. The tape was not working so I tried a small drop of super glue. Bad idea. I now have a smear of glue on the once pristine shield. I tried swabbing some alcohol to no affect. I'm afraid I will make it worse in the pursuit of perfection. Is there anything I can try or should I just stop and tell people the car hit a scale water foul of some kind?
darbyvet
#2 Posted : 25 May 2016 01:44:57

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Registered, Moderator, Tech Support, Technical Support, Forum Support Team, Forum Support USA, Global Forum Support, Global Forum Support Team

Hi CHipwool welcome to the forum,
I have had success using nail polish remover.here is an article describing how to do it.I would test the plastic first in one of the corners to make sure it wont damage the plastic.

http://www.ehow.com/how_...glue-clear-plastic.html

Carl

michu
#3 Posted : 25 May 2016 07:17:50

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal

You can also purchase super glue debonder that might help, as this is something specifically designed for the job. But as Carl suggested, be careful and try it out first where it won't be visible. I've never tried it on clear parts.