Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

12 Pages 123>»
Greyhawks Soleil Royal (96/140) Options
greyhawk
#1 Posted : 07 August 2016 23:38:15

Active Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Registered

Couldn't pass this one up, now could I.

After a bit of a delay due to an avalanche of technical difficulties, I finally started my Soleil Royal build on August 1st (for the second time, see: technical difficulties) and finished up pack 1 today.

For this one, I've decided on writing a rather lengthy and wordy build report adressed to the absolute novice. In German for a change however. Time constraints don't allow me to do this for both languages unfortunately, so in the English version a short look at the build every 5 issues or so will have to do. Sorry.

There's a lot of warp issues with the wood that are decidedly difficult to get rid of. I had to trash the first attempt at this build in it's entirety because warp I thought I got rid of reestablished itself even worse, to the point where frames were poining into all directions at once and a continuation of the build was doomed.

The replacement delivery is better, yet not perfect. You'll notice some warp re-establishing itself on frame 1 in the photo above, so I'm getting out the clamps and some spare straight wood. I don't know if this is an issue specific to the German edition (several co-builders I know report the same issues to some degree) or pack 1 in toto. It'll be interesting to see how it looks when the next pack arrives.
jase
#2 Posted : 08 August 2016 06:40:14