Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Painting Wood and Metal Options
giordanota
#1 Posted : 14 December 2018 03:16:18

Groups: Registered

I am new to the ship model hobby and recently purchased the Vasa ...primarily because I have seen the Vasa twice in Sweden.

My 1st installment is on its way but I am really confused on the painting technique. I think I have a good idea how to map the RAL codes to equivalent Testor codes which was a job in itself. But here is my question ..... Since the model contains both wooden and metal parts, I have no idea whether I need to prep either the wood or metal to have the acrylic paints work well. Any advice?
jase
#2 Posted : 14 December 2018 05:08:54

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding buildBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal

Hi

Yes you absolutly do need to prime both materials a good automotive primer such as Halfords grey in the UK will do both

If your going to use testors paints then on the wood i would recomend sealing with a mat or satin varnish one dry to stop it peeling or scratching off

Jase
“Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.”
-Mark Twain
Gandale
#3 Posted : 14 December 2018 10:13:07

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding buildBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Registered, Global Forum Support, Moderator, Official Builds, Administrators