Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Planking according to instructions? Options
JanneG_50
#1 Posted : 18 August 2019 08:53:58

Groups: Registered

Hello,
I am a true beginner regarding model boat building. I have ordered San Filepe mostly caused by the detailed instructions on ModelSpace website. And it is a beautifull ship!

I have not received the kit yet, but I have tried to prepare myself by reading good information in the forum. Thanks to all! I have also studied the building instructions and videos on Youtube.

Now to my question (perhaps not the only ...BigGrin
The planking process seems critical and I have studied "Simple Hull Planking Techniques For Beginners" (called SHP below)edited by Dirk De Bakker and Greg Brooker. Verry good I think! The methods decribed in SHP differs somewhat from the planking methods decribed in the kit instructions (at least as I understand right now). Primarily the handling of bands and tappering of planks towards the bow as described in SHP is handled in another way according to the instructions.

Can anybody advise me if I shall follow the instructions completely or make a planking as shown in SHP?
Gandale
#2 Posted : 18 August 2019 09:30:22

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding buildBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Registered, Global Forum Support, Moderator, Official Builds, Administrators