Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Follow Instructions Options
davidyat
#1 Posted : 04 April 2020 16:52:52

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Registered

I started my GT 40 build. I remembered reading the Official build before I ordered my first pack. My very first assembly (5-G into 5-F), I broke the tab on
5-G. I'm a machinist who works with tolerances like 1/2 of a thousandth. I took out my caliper, measured the tab, got a drill bit that size and tried to enlarge the hole instead of FOLLOWING INSTRUCTIONS ON THE OFFICIAL BUILD and scrapping off the chrome. I thought I had the hole enlarged enough. I didn't. And when I pushed down on 5-G, I broke off the tab. Thank God I was able to glue it back on. At least it's in an area where my mistake won't be seen. So I would highly advise you to follow the official build and learn from my mistake.

Bosco
admin
#2 Posted : 05 April 2020 05:26:47

Groups: Administrator, Administrators, Forum Support Team, Global Forum Support, Global Forum Support Team, Moderator, Official Builds

I’ve painted myself into that corner more than once. All 50 years of modeling experience doesn’t prevent me from getting really stupid from time to time!
CaptnBirdseye
#3 Posted : 05 April 2020 11:30:36

Active Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal

admin wrote:
I’ve painted myself into that corner more than once. All 50 years of modeling experience doesn’t prevent me from getting really stupid from time to time!

BigGrin I think a lot of us will see ourselves in that statement Laugh
davidyat
#4 Posted : 07 April 2020 17:34:09

Thanks, I don't want to be the only one who can look into a mirror and see a Jack Ass looking back!!!
delboy271155
#5 Posted : 07 April 2020 17:39:03