Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

13 Pages 123>»
Gandale’s Enhanced Trumpeter Bismarck Options
Gandale
#1 Posted : 03 November 2020 18:26:41

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding buildBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal
Groups: Registered, Global Forum Support, Moderator, Official Builds, Administrators

My Official Ship builds are now complete and as a result I have made the decision that my days of building period ships has also come to an end, for the foreseeable future at least. Thought it was time to broaden my horizons and make a start at learning some much needed new skills. The 1/200 Bismarck is a kit I’ve had in my stash for some time now and the fact that I’ve never worked with plastic before is one reason why it has never been started. I have also acquired the Pontos Deluxe photo etch set, a set I have to say I’m very impressed with, especially with the wooden decks. My experience of working with photo etch is also very limited so this is going to be a completely new experience for me in both working with plastic and photo etch.

With that said, some members may say I’ve completely lost the plot taking all this on and perhaps they’re right. But I’ve never been into small quick builds, I need to be building something that is going to take me time to put together and set me new challenges along the way. You could say I’ve really jumped in at the deep end here but that is me and it's something I enjoy about this hobby. There are quite a few Bismarck builds on the forum so I don’t expect there to be a large following with this but for those who do decide to follow, I will try and make this diary as detailed as possible so hope you enjoy.