Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

11 Pages 123>»
Kev's MFH 1:12 1967 Eagle Gurney-Weslake T1G Build Options
Kev the Modeller
#1 Posted : 10 December 2020 15:13:51

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Hello all,

Here is my build diary for the Model Factory Hiro (MFH) 1:12 Eagle Gurney-Weslake T1G. To my eye this is one of, if not THE best looking Formula One cars ever.

This is my first build of an MFH kit and this particular kit has been on my wish list ever since I first discovered it, and now I own it. I am going to enjoy this build!

The kit and contents are as follows:

I will be building Version A depicting the car that won the 1967 Belgian Grand Prix (Round 4) with Dan Gurney at the wheel. To this day it is still the only F1 car to win a Grand Prix that was American built and driven by an American driver:

Lots of white metal castings ... :

... and those exhausts and mirrors in the right hand bag are made of stainless steel!:

Beautifully cast side pods in white metal and other body/chassis parts:

Various cast resin parts, including a beautifully thin nose cone:

Beautiful turned metal wheel rims (the centres are separate white metal parts):

Fantastic pre-printed tyres:

Several bags containing many smaller parts:

Wire mesh, including a pre-formed cover for the induction trumpets and a vac-formed windscreen. Also included is a cast resin seated driver figure with an uncanny likeness of the man himself, Dan Gurney. The helmet/head is resin cast and the separate visor is cast in white metal. Not sure if I will actually use the figure yet:

A couple of PE sheets:

Decal sheets. The small one is for the driver figure: