Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

20 Pages 123>»
Admirals HMS Sovereign of the seas adventure Options
Admiral Anti Spiral
#1 Posted : 28 September 2012 00:35:33

Active Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Pleased to be saying i will be starting my second wooden ship build, and my first build diary, i am new to this so forgive me for any mistakes i may make along the way, i will be building to the utmost detail i can produceBigGrin .

I plan to make this ship as true to the 1637 build, so i've come across many useful images and a very good czech forum which will help along the way, as well as other model builds of HMS Sovereign with detailed images, so this should be a fun build Smile

I have already started this build so i will be showing what i have done from here on out, my camera isn't the best but its all i got.

Bow keel was slightly off so i simply added some folder paper between piece 10 and the keel

Used a laser line and its much straighter.
Processing - Progressing

Previous builds: HMS Victory
Current build: HMS Sovereign of the seas
Admiral Anti Spiral
#2 Posted : 28 September 2012 00:51:59

Active Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour

Next i started on the cannons. very nice detailed cannons

The red i first used to paint was a bit too right, came across a bit of trouble with my paints, added some black with thinner to make it darker and some of the red started to come off, but in the end im pleased, but i will be buying some slightly dark red in the future.

For the bronze i pretty much did the same, except i wanted it to be more gold than shown in the magazine, so painted it gold and added some black thinner, makes the details stand out more. Might be hard to see but i also drilled some small holes and added some wire to make it out to be pins.