Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

HMS Greyhound-Corel Options
Wilfy the Sea Dog
#1 Posted : 06 June 2010 23:29:40

Active Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Hi,

I'm pretty new to the art of ship modelling, more used to plastic AFV kits, but have been interested in giving it a try for a while.

When I saw this issue of HMS Victory I thought now's the time, as I guessed that this was going to be a hefty priced model and I didn't want to start until I had all the keel & bulkhead pieces I thought I would invest in a cheaper kit for a bit practice before taking on the Victory.

I saw the Corel HMS Greyhound which wasn't too pricey and fairly small, so thought I would give it a try.

Has anyone out there built this kit? I found the fit of parts to be very poor so far and the instructions & plans leave a little to be desired. Is it just me? or has anyone else had this experience.

Would be greatful for any comments.

Thanks
amipal
#2 Posted : 07 June 2010 00:25:34

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour

Hi Wilfy, welcome to the forum!

The Victory is the first vessel that I'm building, and yes there are some minor issues with some parts of the ship - but I think this can be the case with a lot of scale model kits. On the other hand, this forum has a lot of knowledge within it to assist in both building the ship as the manual instructs, but also to assist in scratching-building and modifying sections.

If you really want to build the model, I say crack on. Get on the forum for the ship, and start asking questions and I'm sure that people will help you out with anything that is wrong or challenging.

Good luck! Cool
MWG
#3 Posted : 08 June 2010 00:26:19

Active Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of HonourRed Medal: Red Medal

Hi Wilfy,