Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

New modeler taking on SOTS S.A Options
portside
#1 Posted : 31 August 2013 15:35:26

Build-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Hey Chaps,

Started collecting via CNA from the first edition, got up to 14 and they "lost" my fileCursing so i decided to go the Jacklin route from issue 20, caught up with the collecting after back ordering up to issue 18, now we just hope and pray that all will be arriving soon.

Added a few pic's of my build so far, must be honest though, i never did the heating or steaming of the hull planks, Huh , was that a must do??

Keep sailing.
Regards
Duane

portside attached the following image(s):
IMG-20130818-00217.jpg
IMG-20130818-00218.jpg
IMG-20130818-00219.jpg
IMG-20130819-00221.jpg
IMG-20130820-00223.jpg
KobusBeukes
#2 Posted : 31 August 2013 16:10:58

Hi Duane

Welcome to the forum and good to see another SA build!BigGrin

I'm also new to this hooby and enjoying it!Cool I'm using steam to bend the planks, found that it keep the form better than if not steamed.

I've gone the Jacklin route from issue 5 and after some initial frustrations all is on track now and I'm happy!BigGrin

Enjoy the build!
Kobus

Current Build
HMS Sovereign of the Seas - First Build
Marcel
#3 Posted : 31 August 2013 18:10:57

Turquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour

BigGrin

Ahoy Duane, its a pleasure to have you on the forum or on the shipbuild.
The SOTS is being planked with Bamboo, which is a strong wood which take strain well.

Bending wood consist of moist, heat and steam. You soak the planks in water for a few hours until its soft enough to bend by your hands. Take the plank to your former (a shape like figure) and bend it to the shape needed for the hull fitting. Pin it to the hull without glue and let it dry out before applying glue.